The Gerontological Society of America Congratulates 2022 Awardees

For Immediate Release
June 16, 2022

Contact: Todd Kluss
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
(202) 587-2839

The Gerontological Society of America (GSA) — the country’s largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to the field of aging — is proud to acknowledge the work of 23 outstanding individuals through its prestigious awards program.

GSA salutes outstanding research, recognizes distinguished leadership in teaching and service, and fosters new ideas through a host of awards. Nominated by their peers, the recipients’ achievements serve as milestones in the history and development of gerontology.

The award presentations will take place at GSA’s 2022 Annual Scientific Meeting, which will be held from November 2 to 6 in Indianapolis, Indiana. This conference is organized to foster interdisciplinary collaboration among researchers, educators, and practitioners who specialize in the study of the aging process. Visit for further details.


Donald P. Kent Award

Recipient: Nancy R. Hooyman, PhD, FGSA, of the University of Washington
This award is given annually to a GSA member who best exemplifies the highest standards for professional leadership in gerontology through teaching, service, and interpretation of gerontology to the larger society.

Robert W. Kleemeier Award
Recipient: Sheryl Zimmerman, PhD, FGSA, of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
This award is given annually to a GSA member in recognition for outstanding research in the field of gerontology.

James Jackson Outstanding Mentorship Award
Recipient: Maria P. Aranda, PhD, MSW, MPA, FGSA, of the University of Southern California
This award recognizes outstanding commitment and dedication to mentoring minority researchers in the field of aging.

Margret M. and Paul B. Baltes Foundation Award
Recipient: Eric S. Kim, PhD, of the University of British Columbia
This award acknowledges outstanding early career contributions in behavioral and social gerontology. This award is given by GSA in conjunction with the Margaret M. and Paul B. Baltes Foundation.

M. Powell Lawton Award
Recipient: Jon Pynoos, PhD, FGSA, FAGHE, of the University of Southern California
This award honors contributions from applied gerontological research that have benefited older people and their care. This award is sponsored by the Abramson Senior Care’s Polisher Research Institute.

Maxwell A. Pollack Award for Productive Aging
Recipient: Nancy Morrow-Howell, MSW, PhD, FGSA, of Washington University in St. Louis
This award recognizes instances of practice informed by research and analysis, research that directly improved policy or practice, and distinction in bridging the worlds of research and practice. This award is funded by the New York Community Trust through a generous gift from the Maxwell A. Pollack Fund.

Doris Schwartz Gerontological Nursing Research Award
Recipient: Barbara Bowers, PhD, FGSA, of the University of Wisconsin-Madison
This award is presented to a GSA member who has a record of outstanding and sustained contribution to geriatric nursing research

Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education

Clark Tibbitts Award
Recipient: Laura K.M. Donorfio, PhD, FAGHE, of The University of Connecticut
This award is given to individual or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of gerontology and/or geriatrics education.

Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award
Recipient: Rona J. Karasik, PhD, FAGHE, FGSA, of St. Cloud State University
This award recognizes individuals who have contributed to gerontological and/or geriatrics education through excellence in mentorship to students, faculty, and administrators.

Distinguished Faculty Award
Recipient: Christine A Fruhauf, PhD, FGSA, FAGHE, of Colorado State University 
This award recognizes persons whose teaching stands out as exemplary, innovative, of impact, or any combination thereof.

Rising Star Early Career Faculty Award
Recipient: M. Aaron Guest, PhD, MPH, MSW, of Arizona State University
This award recognizes new faculty whose teaching and/or leadership stands out as impactful and innovative.

Book Award for Best Children’s Literature on Aging
Recipient: "On the Trapline" by David A. Robertson Tundra Book Group
Honorable Mention: "Coffee, Rabbit, Snowdrop, Lost" by Betina Birkjaer, Enchanted Lion Books
This award recognizes positive portrayals of older adults in children’s literature.

Behavioral and Social Sciences Section

Distinguished Career Contribution to Gerontology Award
Recipient: Thomas M. Hess, PhD, FGSA, of North Carolina State University
This award recognizes career contributions that have articulated a novel theoretical or methodological perspective or synthesis that addresses a significant problem in the literature.

Distinguished Mentorship in Gerontology Award
Recipient: Karen Hooker, PhD, FGSA, of Oregon State University
This award is given to an individual who has fostered excellence in, and had a major impact on, the field by virtue of their mentoring, and whose inspiration is sought by students and colleagues.

Richard Kalish Innovative Publication Award
Recipients: Richard A. Settersten Jr., PhD, FGSA, of Oregon State University; Glen H. Elder Jr., PhD, of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Lisa D. Pearce, PhD, of the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
For the book, “Living on the Edge: An American Generation’s Journey through the 20th Century”
Recipient: William Chopik, PhD, FGSA, of Michigan State University
For the article, “Grateful expectations: Cultural differences in the curvilinear association between age and gratitude”

This award recognizes insightful and innovative publications on aging and life course development in the behavioral and social sciences in two categories: (1) Book Category and (2) Article Category.

Health Sciences Section

Excellence in Rehabilitation of Aging Persons Award
Recipient: Patricia C. Heyn, PhD, FGSA, FACRM, of Marymount University
This award acknowledges outstanding contributions in the field of rehabilitation of aging persons.

Joseph T. Freeman Award
Recipient: Neil M. Resnick, MD, FGSA, of the University of Pittsburgh
This award acknowledges a prominent clinician in the field of aging, both in research and practice.

Social Research, Policy, and Practice Section

Barbara J. Berkman Award for Outstanding Interdisciplinary Research, Practice, or Policy in Aging and Health Care
Recipient: Susan C. Reinhard, RN, PhD, FAAN, FGSA, of AARP Public Policy Institute
This award acknowledges many years of significant and substantive career contributions to research, practice and policy in aging and health care services.

Elaine M. Brody SRPP Thought Leader Award
Recipient: Robert Applebaum, PhD, FGSA, of Miami University
This award acknowledges outstanding career contributions in social research, policy, and practice. 


The Gerontological Society of America (GSA) is the nation's oldest and largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to research, education, and practice in the field of aging. The principal mission of the Society — and its 5,500+ members — is to advance the study of aging and disseminate information among scientists, decision makers, and the general public. GSA’s structure also includes a policy institute, the National Academy on an Aging Society.

Share This Page!

Print Page